How long does it take to bake bread?

Reaction score
I would like to start baking bread and have been watching a few shows on it, but each time there are the proving breaks. What I want to know realistically how long do I need to put aside to bake some loaves?

That includes everything from weighing the ingredients, kneading, proving and baking.

Thanks!

Reaction score
I am no expert here but the banana and coconut bread I baked took me about two hours or at the very least one hour and forty five minutes. I distinctly remember that the baking process was about an hour and twenty minutes and because I am slow it took me well over thirty minutes to prepare. I like quick and easy and in fact the process was easy if not quick. It's the baking time which was long and which didn't bother me any as I stuck it in the oven and went about doing other things.

Reaction score
A lot of time. That is why bakers start very early in the morning and the rest of the population have purchased bread makers (this is a joke btw!)

From weighing out your flour, to proving and baking, when I am making pizza dough only, I am looking at all morning, so 3 hours or more before it is going into the oven to cook. I know I usually want the dough ready and proving 90 minutes before I am preparing to put the pizza in the oven and this dough only has the 1 proving session.

When I make sourdough bread I start in the morning (before 9am), getting the sourdough culture active, then putting it aside for several hours (3 hours I guess). When I get home around midday, I weigh out the flour and salt, and add the culture (by weight). This and kneading will take around 30 minutes minimum.