Baking gluten-free muffins: Separating sweet and savoury?

Reaction score
I am currently working in a small bakery and i have no experience with gluten free. So I got trained to do gluten free (sweet) muffins first make sure everything is clean and rinsed like bowls and equipment before making the mix etc etc..then do all the other muffin (hi-fibre...choc chip, blueberry etc) then got told when all other muffins are done to do gluten free savoury and put in oven last and of course on top tray in oven if any of the other muffins are still in oven. So my question is why can't I put both gluten free savoury and gluten free sweet in at the same time? Separate muffin tins obviously ? Trainers have left and I feel stupid to ring them and ask them. Also does anyone know why they was calling the blue plastic scraper a bakers friend? They are Australian so maybe it is an Australian term? I used to bake bread and have never heard anyone call it a bakers friend. Thank you for your time :)

Reaction score
Usually, you don't bake sweet and savory in the same oven at the same time.

Lets say you are baking onion and cheese muffins and also baking cranberry and walnut muffins......the scent and acidity of the onions could infuse a bit into the cranberry and walnut muffins, making them smell "off" a bit, or even taste a little "funny".

The same goes for the cranberry and walnut muffins affecting the onion and cheese muffins. Cranberries have acid in them as well, and can have a high aroma factor when being baked, so they might give the onion and cheese muffins a slight "sweet" or cranberry "tang" aroma, which you don't want.