What are the simplest cakes for beginners to make?

Reaction score
While I am not a beginner in the true sense of the word, I know my baking skills now have to be honed where I can progress to the point where I can offer to bake a cake from scratch and donate to an event. With that in mind, I am happy if any of you can offer me some tips for some simple cake recipes.

As a "beginner" I believe it's important to take those baby steps before you can run.

Thank you in advance for your guidance.

Reaction score
Well, for me the most simple cake ever is the carrot one, but when making cakes you need to be careful with the amount of oil you use. If you use too much your cake will be too oily. It's all about the balance. Also be careful when you add fruit to a cake mix, specially if making carrot cake. I love roasting the pecans with some sugar before adding them to my carrot mix cake :)

Reaction score
Well I have a carrot mix box cake in the cupboard but no pecans on hand. There are so expensive and sometimes hard to find here. I will make a special effort to find some when I am out and about. I know they won't be found in the smaller supermarkets.

Once I find them I can then present my "from scratch" carrot cake:). I suspect I am going to have some issues with all these goodies and my weight!

Reaction score
Thank you ACSAPA. This looks " ridiculously easy" as you stated and those two words suit me just fine. When it comes to my cooking, I have big problems sticking to the the recipe. I like to substitute here, add there and all that crazy stuff.

I'll try not to do that here with the baking . Perhaps that's where I went wrong with some of the "from scratch" baking. I feel like I can try this from as soon as this weekend as I have all the ingredients excluding the pecans.

Reaction score