Looking for 3" Deep Stainless Steel Cake Rings in 6" and 10"

Reaction score
Hi guys,

For some reason I am finding it absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to find 3" Deep - Stainless Steel 6" & 10" Cake Rings.

I am able to find much smaller ones but literally nowhere online appears to sell ones of this size unless they're those terrible 'adjustable size' ones, which having used in the past, I never wish to use again!

I've attached an image to show what I'm looking for, I'm fairly new to baking and haven't needed one of these yet and I just can't comprehend why they're so hard to get hold of!?

Any help really will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Rich
momofuku-birthday-cake-56-800.jpg

Reaction score
Hi guys,

For some reason I am finding it absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to find 3" Deep - Stainless Steel 6" & 10" Cake Rings.

I am able to find much smaller ones but literally nowhere online appears to sell ones of this size unless they're those terrible 'adjustable size' ones, which having used in the past, I never wish to use again!

I've attached an image to show what I'm looking for, I'm fairly new to baking and haven't needed one of these yet and I just can't comprehend why they're so hard to get hold of!?

Any help really will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

While the commercial production method of cutting cake layers from a sheet cake is standard in bakeries, home bakers only learned about it through Momofuku Milk Bar’s confetti cake recipe. Since the production method is not used by home cooks, the equipment used is not readily available in retail stores.

You will need to purchase through a restaurant supply store. Most restaurant supply stores are open to the public. Aluminum rings run under $10 per ring. Stainless steel are $15+ depending on size.

While I keep a box of full sheet size parchment paper, I’m too lazy to cut strips. Instead I use precut 4” acetate strips. I find acetate performs better in this application. And it’s more convenient than parchment paper.