Tips for Better Bread Shaping

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm fairly new to baking bread and so far have only attempted basic white bloomers.
They seem to turn out OK but I suspect they could be better.
I've watched plenty of videos & read quite a lot & my weak point is shaping.
I've tried making boule shaped loaves but they always fall pancake flat so I'm now using a tin.
When attempting to shape the dough I always find that the dough is way too sticky.
Most advice I've seen says that you should use only a small amount of flour on your surface but this makes it impossible to work with.
The dough sticks to my hands and the surface such that it pulls apart when I move it.
I've tried reducing the hydration but it makes little difference so I end up using quite a bit of flour on my hands & the surface.
Regardless, I still end up with a mishapen lump which gets even worse when I try to put it in the tin.
However, the bread tastes OK albeit looking a complete mess. (The pre-bake slashing is a whole other disaster area but I'll leave that for now).
My question is: Does it really matter about shaping when baking in a tin?
The bread is only for my use & I've no intention of displaying it.

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm fairly new to baking bread and so far have only attempted basic white bloomers.
I've tried making boule shaped loaves but they always fall pancake flat so I'm now using a tin.
When attempting to shape the dough I always find that the dough is way too sticky.
Most advice I've seen says that you should use only a small amount of flour on your surface but this makes it impossible to work with.
The dough sticks to my hands and the surface such that it pulls apart when I move it.
I've tried reducing the hydration but it makes little difference so I end up using quite a bit of flour on my hands & the surface.
Regardless, I still end up with a mishapen lump which gets even worse when I try to put it in the tin.