Advice on edible gold colouring wanted please :)

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

I wonder if you might be able to give me some advice on a topic which I'm a little unfamiliar on please...

I'm making a 2 tiered wedding cake as a wedding present for a friend and for the top tier she would like a gold sequin effect. I've never used any gold paints or sprays before and I wondered if you could recommend the best method for me to use as i'll need to paint the whole top cake (it's a double stack 8"). Would you use a gold aerosol spray, pump spray, ready made paint or create a paint from a gold dust/vodka mix? Also are there any brands you would recommend? The shade of gold I'm going for is more of a champagne gold than a yellow gold if that makes sense...

Any help would be so gratefully appreciated. Thank you!

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

I wonder if you might be able to give me some advice on a topic which I'm a little unfamiliar on please...

I'm making a 2 tiered wedding cake as a wedding present for a friend and for the top tier she would like a gold sequin effect. I've never used any gold paints or sprays before and I wondered if you could recommend the best method for me to use as i'll need to paint the whole top cake (it's a double stack 8"). Would you use a gold aerosol spray, pump spray, ready made paint or create a paint from a gold dust/vodka mix? Also are there any brands you would recommend? The shade of gold I'm going for is more of a champagne gold than a yellow gold if that makes sense...

Any help would be so gratefully appreciated. Thank you!

I would not recommend aerosols as the can color sprays are very difficult to control. The color will be very splotchy. Metallics show imperfections far more than matte colors, so it’s best to apply metallics with a good airbrush system.