Agh! I ruined a batch of macarons!

Reaction score
So I sat everything up to make a batch of espresso macarons. Using the Italian method, got the egg whites beating and the sugar syrup cooking. And I decide to wash up the few dishes in the sink because I am OCD. When I get back to the boiling syrup I find the temperature is 253°!

Not wanting to waste anything I decided not to make a new pot of sugar syrup. Oh big mistake… half the shells did not rise because the syrup was so far beyond the soft ball stage it acted like a glue! And they all stuck to the silpat.

Oh well, you stupid, you suffero_O

But at least the color was perfect and the coffee flavor nicely produced.

Reaction score
How frustrating!! I’ve never tried that method before, it sounds more complicated than the one I’ve had reasonable success with.

I’m the same as you and hate to waste ingredients but it’s so annoying when you don’t get the results you normally do!!
Well done on tHe colour- mine always come out pale!

Reaction score
How frustrating!! I’ve never tried that method before, it sounds more complicated than the one I’ve had reasonable success with.

I’m the same as you and hate to waste ingredients but it’s so annoying when you don’t get the results you normally do!!
Well done on tHe colour- mine always come out pale!

Well I’m glad I’m not the only one that worries about wasting ingredients:). Even though in the end I wasted the whole batch it was the thought that counts right?

Yes the oven heat really fades most food coloring. I try to pick very vibrant colors. And I always color the batter several shades darker than desired. The color is usually better when it’s natural, such is cocoa powder or espresso powder.

Ohhh that makes me wonder if powdered food coloring would work.

Reaction score