Amateur baker looking to donate food I make so I can develop baking skills?

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been trying to find somewhere online to ask about this.

I'm a novice home baker and I really want to develop my baking skills. The problem is I don't have an office to take food into, and my friends and family are all being careful about their eating so I don't want to force cakes on them! And obviously I don't want lots of this stuff lying around either.

It can be pretty difficult to just make individual servings of things when trying out recipes, and just seems a bit disheartening, so I was wondering if there are places I can basically post packages of baked goods to?! For example, any charities (in the UK), or even the armed forces, etc?
Feedback might be nice but really I'd just like to make it easier to try out new things whilst letting other people benefit from it!

I know there's always the option of doing a bake sale, etc, but really I'd just prefer just to send items to people/an organisation directly as I'm not up for organising one right now.

At this point I'm almost ready to just deliver some of my baking to anyone with an address who wants some cookies!

Thank you.

Liz

Last edited:
Reaction score
You’ll have to check with the food safety laws in the UK.

In the US food charities are prohibited from accepting any prepared food produced from a home kitchen due to food poisoning risks. Food charities in the US are only allowed to accept prepared food from a licensed food producer, such as a grocery store, restaurant, bakery, or licensed cater.

I develop my own recipes, so I bake a lot. But I am a celiac so I cannot eat wheat based foods. When you bake using metric weight its pretty simple to scale. When I test a recipe I scale it to a small yield. For example, 6 cupcakes; one 8” round cake layer; 12 cookies. Batch size/yield can be whatever you choose when working in metric weight.

Reaction score