Help me make an authentic 'Gateau Cake' for my dad's birthday

Reaction score
I realize that the title of this is odd, so let me explain. I'm an amateur baker. So amateur, that excluding the 2 dozen loafs of bread I baked a decade ago, I've pretty much never baked anything that didn't come in a box with instructions on the side. Here's a preface of my situation:

As a child, I can remember my father baking rolls. He loved baking, and was actually quite decent. He didn't like recipes, so he just made up his own using only common sense and his understanding of the core ingredients needed to make certain things. One thing he was always horrible at was baking cakes from scratch. They were always dense, crumby(literally), and he used weird ingredients. He jokingly(but I think proudly) called these creations not as a cake, but as a "Gateau Cake". These cakes would be double layer cakes (hope that's the right term - where there are essentially two cakes with icing in the middle), and they would always be smaller than a box/kit cake. He would always make Maple icing for some reason, and the cakes would always have raisins and nuts in them. I'm pretty sure he just threw in ingredients that he thought might be interesting. He's all done baking now though, and he hasn't baked a cake in a decade. Fast Forward --->>>

Last year he turned 71, and I promised him a "Gateau Cake", except I made one from a recipe I found online. He exclaimed "This is not a legitimate Gateau Cake!". This Sunday is his 72nd birthday, and I'm determined to make him an authentic "Gateau Cake". I'm not going to bother searching for a recipe online, because that will only produce a typical cake. That's why I'm here. I need a recipe for an amateur cake. A cake that's not light and fluffy so much. I don't want it to be horrible or anything, but it can't seem like a result from a recipe. Yummy, and homemade, but not something that no one wants to eat. Make sense?(God I hope)