Attaching old sugarpaste to the side of a cake

Reaction score
Good evening, I'd be grateful for some advice regarding attaching sugarpaste to a cake.
I am attempting to make fairly flat buildings from New York and the skyline using sugarpaste. I want to eventually stick them on to the side of a cake. As I am a beginner making these buildings will take me a good few days perhaps even a week as there will be so much detail. I know sugarpaste goes dry and hard and then water and edible glue I've tried doesn't stick it anything.
So I was just wondered is it possible make sugarpaste items and leave them for a while (days or weeks) before attaching to a cake ? If so What would be best to attach the buildings with? And how old can sugarpaste last before it so too old that no amount glue would stick it?
Many thanks for your time
Lel

Reaction score
Good evening, I'd be grateful for some advice regarding attaching sugarpaste to a cake.
I am attempting to make fairly flat buildings from New York and the skyline using sugarpaste. I want to eventually stick them on to the side of a cake. As I am a beginner making these buildings will take me a good few days perhaps even a week as there will be so much detail. I know sugarpaste goes dry and hard and then water and edible glue I've tried doesn't stick it anything.
So I was just wondered is it possible make sugarpaste items and leave them for a while (days or weeks) before attaching to a cake ? If so What would be best to attach the buildings with? And how old can sugarpaste last before it so too old that no amount glue would stick it?
Many thanks for your time
Lel

What is the cake covered in? Swiss meringue buttercream? Italian meringue buttercream? American shortening icing? Fondant? Sugar paste decorations should be dry. You should not apply them wet. Moisture will just cause the sugar paste to disintegrate. So you have to let your decorations dry thoroughly before you apply them.