Beginner's Guide to Bread Starters

Reaction score
I have little experience with bread, and zero with starters, but i have a project going for work, and i am curious as to how i should go about it.

So i would like to use the starter on Monday, but i'm told i should let the starter do it's thing overnight, which means i should ideally get the starter going on Sunday. So my first question is, how do you transport a starter? Ideally, should it not be agitated at all? I usually ride my bike to work- so if i had the starter in a mason jar or something, would the agitation from the bike ride kill the starter, would it help, would it have no effect? Should i drive?

As i started thinking about it, my thoughts then went to, how to people share starters? Do you just take a spoonful of someone else's and mix it into your own flour/water matrix? Do starters just last/live for a long time? Do people just feed their starters frequently? If so, how often do you feed them?

Any and all help is appreciated, thanks!

Reaction score
Well I really would not even know how to 'start' as this whole subject is very intimidating to me. However, Google and I have a wonderful relationship so I looked this up. I found a few things. Just so I can help out I am doing a straight copy and paste Collegeconfusion. Someone is responding to a question similar to yours. Here's what I thought was a response that might be useful to you.

"There are two way I ship (or travel with) starter. I either make a very stiff starter mixture (100g of 50/50 starter + 100g flour) and ship it in a plastic bag placed in a mason jar with a lose lid. make sure it is 3/4 empty to let the starter rise.

I also dry my starter for either shipping or "backup" in case my active starter dies. To dry starter, I make a very loose starter mixture (pancake batter like) and spread it on a baking sheet lined with a Silpat (silicone pad) in a thin layer (~ 1/8").