Big letters for cake

Adi

Reaction score
Hi, I am relatively new to cake decorating and I was asked to make this cake. It's pretty simple just that I have never made 3D designs like the letters on the cake. I was thinking of using fondant, but I'm not sure if thats the best option. If you could please help me figure out how to make these letters I would really apreciate it. Thank you in advance!
I couldn't figure out how to put the image, but here's the URL:

https://www.instagram.com/p/9lgGFpBNUm/?hl=en

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum :)

You'll definitely want something rigid enough to last well. I don't have much experience with fondant in sculptural stuff, but you could do a trial. Alternatively how about making them out of biscuit? Something fairly sturdy, like gingerbread, that could be iced.

Reaction score
Does it HAVE to be made out of food? You can go to a hobby store and buy paper mache' numbers and letters in all different sizes and shapes. You can cover them with fondant if you want them to look like food, or you can cover them with a non-toxic paint. Sometimes the store will have them made out of fabrics, wood, glass, and other media as well.

If it HAS to be edible, then I say get some chocolate molds and just make chocolate numbers.
If they need to be a color, you can make white chocolate and use edible glitter or edible paint on them, or you can mix color into the liquid chocolate before you pour it.

There are different depths of molds as well, so if you need a sturdy number made out of chocolate, then I would look for a chocolate mold in the shape of the numbers you need, and at least one inch deep..

Reaction score
I know this is an old post, but I thought I'd comment in the event others want to know how to make editable decorations to apply on a cake. I've made 3-D numbers and letters of the size and thickness shown in the OP's photo. It's a pretty straightforward process. You just have to keep a few things in mind.