Perfecting Brioche Doughnuts: Tips and Tricks

Reaction score
Hi bakers! I would LOVE some advice. I am new to brioche baking and am trying to nail down my doughnut recipe, but I'm in need of help. I follow Bread Ahead's recipe and while the dough has the most beautiful flavor, I'm not getting the highest rise and sometimes feel like my doughnuts aren't as airy as I would like inside. After passing the window pane test, I stopped proofing on the counter for two hours and just put the dough directly into the fridge overnight. I find that 22-24 hours usually gives me the best flavor. I take the dough out, roll each doughnut and let them sit at room temp for about 1-2 hours until doubled in size. I fry at 350. They puff up beautifully when frying but a few seconds after I take them out, the centers completely shrivel up. You can see from the inside of my doughnut that it does get have a nice rise but my doughnuts appear flat and not brioche pillow like.. am I making any sense?! Sign-- help! lol

Attachments

• D1.jpg
    D1.jpg
    132 KB · Views: 40
  • D3.png
    D3.png
    551.6 KB · Views: 43
  • D4.png
    D4.png
    245.2 KB · Views: 41
Reaction score
Are you in the UK?

Bread Ahead is a British baking school. Their formulas are going to be formulated for British ingredients.

There is mark difference between ingredients by country.

When using a recipe from another country you need to know the standard for their ingredients, then make the conversion.

Examples:

British wheat is naturally very low in protein. Plain flour in UK has 9% protein which is the equivalent to pastry flour in the United States and Canada.

Bleached flour is banned in the European Union. Cake flour is bleached and has about 8% - 9% protein. Because the flour is bleached, it rises significantly more than unbleached flour. It also has a much finer crumb and is very white. So there is no authentic cake flour in the European Union.