Can I Substitute Margarine for Butter in a Choux Pastry?

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to baking and wanted to try profiteroles. However, I cannot eat dairy products (including butter). Is there a good substitute for butter (such as margarine/shortening, canola oil, coconut oil, etc.) for a choux pastry or should I try a different dessert?
Thanks!

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to baking and wanted to try profiteroles. However, I cannot eat dairy products (including butter). Is there a good substitute for butter (such as margarine/shortening, canola oil, coconut oil, etc.) for a choux pastry or should I try a different dessert?
Thanks!

It won’t be the same. Just look for vegan pate a choux recipes.

Reaction score
Thanks!

Bakers have been using marg for 75 years with no problem.
I never worked in a french bakery that used butter or milk in choux paste.
You can use oil but the shells will always be soft, some bakers prefer that.
Try to find baking margarine, not the spread slop.
If you can't find any baking marg just use crisco veg shortening.

Reaction score
Bakers have been using marg for 75 years with no problem.
I never worked in a french bakery that used butter or milk in choux paste.
You can use oil but the shells will always be soft, some bakers prefer that.
Try to find baking margarine, not the spread slop.
If you can't find any baking marg just use crisco veg shortening.

I think stating honestly the differences in quality when making substitutions should always be stated. There is a marked difference in the dough when margarine is substituted. The loss of flavor is quite noticeable, and the texture is different.