How to Prevent Coffee Cake from Collapsing

Reaction score
Hi. I'm a newbie to both the forum and baking . . so apologies if this question has already been answered. Every holiday season, my wife makes dozens of coffee cakes using her grandmother's recipe that we deliver to neighbors and friends. After years of making beautiful cakes, we've recently "lost" a bunch to the top rising really high and then collapsing - while at the same time, sometimes the middle isn't fully cooked. Literally 50% of the cakes end up this way. Her theory is that we got a new Cuisinart mixer and that we are mixing the ingredients at different speeds than before. My theory is that it might depend on the pan and that it is heating differently. We're not competing on this, we're just trying to shoot better than 50%. Does anyone have a reliable way of baking something as seemingly simple as a coffee cake without it caving in on itself. Thanks.

Reaction score
Using a different mixer has nothing to do with how the cake comes out. It's how long you mix and at what speeds you use.

From your description, I would say this is a heating problem in the oven...nothing to do with a mixer.

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum @Tucker30 :)

I'd agree with Chester on this one. Might also be something to do with the raising agent - is she using a different type or different amount?

Reaction score
Using a different mixer has nothing to do with how the cake comes out. It's how long you mix and at what speeds you use.

From your description, I would say this is a heating problem in the oven...nothing to do with a mixer.

That's accurate, but the oven is not always the guilty one when it comes to baking, check out the temperatures you have to bake it on and try again.

Reaction score