Colour fade and rainbow cake

Reaction score
At the weekend I made a cake with coloured sponges on the inside and a faded colour icing on the outside. It's my first time trying to do icing of this style, so I'm really proud with how it turned out.

I need to get round to buying a turntable so I can do the icing perfectly, but I think the overall effect is good! :D

Inside it's a victoria sponge, strawberry jam, and the buttercream is vanilla

cake pic 1.JPG
cake pic 2.JPG

OH - So here's something I want to ask. I really want to focus on my cake decorating skills, but I also want to make sure I have different flavoured cakes in my repertoire so I'm not always bringing the same flavours.

Do you guys have recipes for nice flavoured cakes that I can practice decorating and piping on?

Reaction score
At the weekend I made a cake with coloured sponges on the inside and a faded colour icing on the outside. It's my first time trying to do icing of this style, so I'm really proud with how it turned out.

I need to get round to buying a turntable so I can do the icing perfectly, but I think the overall effect is good! :D

Inside it's a victoria sponge, strawberry jam, and the buttercream is vanilla

View attachment 1562 View attachment 1563

OH - So here's something I want to ask. I really want to focus on my cake decorating skills, but I also want to make sure I have different flavoured cakes in my repertoire so I'm not always bringing the same flavours.

Do you guys have recipes for nice flavoured cakes that I can practice decorating and piping on?
Hello,
You’re Cake looks delicious and colorful, I love it!

Last edited by a moderator:
Reaction score
Wow, that cake is beautiful! You've done a great job with the decorating, you must be feeling justifiable happy with that! :)

Do you have any tips for doing the colour fade?

Reaction score