Complete newbie

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I'm Sam 35/f and I've recently fallen in love with baking. I'm usually a disaster in the kitchen but I've recently started baking with my niece and found a real passion for it. If anyone has any tips/advice for starting out I'd be very happy to hear them.

Sam

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I'm Sam 35/f and I've recently fallen in love with baking. I'm usually a disaster in the kitchen but I've recently started baking with my niece and found a real passion for it. If anyone has any tips/advice for starting out I'd be very happy to hear them.

Sam

Hello and welcome to the forum. I’m pleased to hear you’ve discovered a passion for baking. I’ve been baking for about 20 yrs and am still very passionate about it.

For a newbie these are the things I would recommend to become a better baker and achieve good results.

1. Scale: purchase a food scale and learn to bake by metric weight. Baking is all science, a chemical reaction between the ingredients and the heat. Because of that the ratio of ingredients to the flour is very important for consistent results. Measuring by volume (cups) is very in accurate.

No two ingredients weigh the same; One cup of flour weighs approximately 120 g; 1 cup of sugar weighs approximately 200 g; one cup of butter weighs approximately 226 g. Depending how you fill a measuring cup, you could cram up to 25% more flour in a measuring cup. But if you bake by metric weight 120 g will always be 120 g.

2. Metal pans: The type of metal will determine how heat is conducted into your batters and doughs. Dark metal, anodized aluminum, and non-stick treated metals conduct heat more intensely. As a result they cause over browning, They cause cake batter to set to quickly on the outside while the center remains uncooked. The result is a cake crust is too brown, dry and chewy and the center looks like a volcano, raised and cracked.

Natural and treated metal produces the best results.