Dominican Sweets! - Guaba Rolls with frying cheese

Reaction score
Hi!

I'm new to the forum, and to be honest, I am just starting to learn how to bake, I want to share a recipe from my country, a tropical dessert!

You need the following ingredients:

a. 2 cups of flour
b. 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
c. 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
d. 3 teaspoons of cold water
e. 4 tablespoons of vegetable oil.
f. 1 teaspoon of salt´
g. guaba sweets sticks (to be honest, I don't know where or if you can find it outside DR. I know some Latin Markets have them. You can use any other kind of sweet if you can't find guaba)
. h. 1/4 pounds of frying cheese
i. 1 egg youlk
j. 1 tablespoon of milk

The recipe is for 8 sticks.

Directions
  1. Put the baking soda, baking powder, salt, flour, egg yolk, water, 3 tablespoons of oil in a boil and mix it with your hands, until you form an uniform dough. You have to be careful with the dough, don't over handle it! If you feel its too humid, put a little bit of flour or water if it is too dry.
  2. Wrap the dough in plastic and let it there for ten minutes.
  3. Preheat the oven to 350 ºC [175 ºC].
  4. In a surface spread with flour, extend the dough with a roller. Roll the dough until its really thin. Cut it in 8 squates of 4" x 4" [10 x 10 cm]. Wrap a guaba sweet stick and a cheese stick in one of the squares. seal the corner with a finger.
  5. Greaseyour baking tray with what is left of the oil.
  6. Mix the yolk with the milk and whip it. "Paint" the rolls with the mix. Bake the rolls until they get brown-gold, that takes up to 15-20 minutes.
  7. Serve and enjoy!
I've it before, the recipe was written by Clara Gonzalez, so you might find it around in Spanish. If you have questions, do not hesitate to post! I want to see your results!

Reaction score