Egg sizes

Reaction score
Hi everyone this is my first post.
I have eggs delivered from a farm and they are jumbo size approx between 85 and 94 gms per egg (in their shell) and they are all double yolks.
I am a keen Baker but am reluctant to experiment too much when a recipe says 2 large eggs as my eggs would make the mixture too wet.
With a Victoria sandwich mix I would weigh the eggs in their shell and use the same amount of flour butter and sugar, however in other cake mixtures I am unsure how much egg to use without the recipe going wrong.
Any advice on how to adapt recipes to use jumbo double yolk eggs?

Reaction score
Recipes are based on baker’s percentage, ratio of ingredients are ALL weighed against the flour. The exception to this is the home bakers in America who persist in using volume measurements (cups and spoons) which is a measure of space, so
absolutely nothing I write in this forum ever applies to the volume measurement unless I specifically state otherwise.

And as long as you’re in the UK and using metric weight you can adapt your jumbo eggs to a recipe by calculating the weight of the egg whites and yolk per large egg.

Commercially produced eggs must meet a MINIMUM size to be included in a grade.

NOTE: Egg grade in Canada and the United States is different from that in Europe. So recipes developed by bakers/cooks in these countries will based on the appropriate egg grade (size).

Most recipes are based on a “large“ egg.

Since, eggs in Europe are graded larger, a “large” egg in Canada and US is equivalent to a medium egg in Europe.

So be aware of where your recipe was developed!!!

A large egg in Europe is a 63g - 73g in the shell. The shell will weight about 8g.

So let’s say the average large egg is 68g. Less 8g for shell, there is 60g raw egg.

The yolk weighs about 38% of the large raw egg.

60g raw egg x .38 yolk weight = 22.8. (round up 23g)

So for every large egg in the recipe, use:

37g egg white and 23 g yolk per large egg