Fairy cake recipe advice

Reaction score
Hello all, first time post on here and I am just looking for some general advice.

I am fairly new to baking and I have been trying to make fairy cakes. The recipe I have bee using is:

170g unsalted butter
170g golden sugar
200g self raising flour
1/2tsp baking powder
200ml Milk

I've been whipping the sugar and butter up together and that is a change I have made that has really improved things.

Ive started with creaming the butter and sugar together, then adding the eggs and really whipping it. Then turning in the flour and then the milk......does that sound like the right order of doing things?

I'm not sure how many UK users there are on here but I am comparing my fairy cakes to those you get in Marks and Spencers, theirs are really soft, although mine are fairly light they aren't really soft. Could I benefit from using cake flour instead of self raising ?

thank you all,

Jamie

Reaction score
Hello all, first time post on here and I am just looking for some general advice.

I am fairly new to baking and I have been trying to make fairy cakes. The recipe I have bee using is:

170g unsalted butter
170g golden sugar
200g self raising flour
1/2tsp baking powder
200ml Milk

I've been whipping the sugar and butter up together and that is a change I have made that has really improved things.

Ive started with creaming the butter and sugar together, then adding the eggs and really whipping it. Then turning in the flour and then the milk......does that sound like the right order of doing things?

I'm not sure how many UK users there are on here but I am comparing my fairy cakes to those you get in Marks and Spencers, theirs are really soft, although mine are fairly light they aren't really soft. Could I benefit from using cake flour instead of self raising ?

thank you all,

Jamie

The reason I would use cake flour is to have control over the ingredients.
you didn't list the eggs, should be 3 I think.