Fluffier bread wanted

Reaction score
I'm new to baking bread. I baked my first two loafs (other than a few in a bread maker years ago) in a toaster oven a few days ago and they came out fine, I think. I'd like to see if I can get the crumb lighter than what I'm getting for variety. Mine felt a little thick, almost like a sour dough or a bread you'd get before dinner, but nothing like a sandwich bread.

A couple restrictions I do have. I'm vegan and trying to eliminate oil, so no oil, dairy of eggs for me. And my oven is small so no dutch ovens. Can I still make a sandwich bread if I choose? I want to make all my own breads from here on out if possible. Maybe I can take a picture of my loaf to help.

Reaction score
I'm new to baking bread. I baked my first two loafs (other than a few in a bread maker years ago) in a toaster oven a few days ago and they came out fine, I think. I'd like to see if I can get the crumb lighter than what I'm getting for variety. Mine felt a little thick, almost like a sour dough or a bread you'd get before dinner, but nothing like a sandwich bread.

A couple restrictions I do have. I'm vegan and trying to eliminate oil, so no oil, dairy of eggs for me. And my oven is small so no dutch ovens. Can I still make a sandwich bread if I choose? I want to make all my own breads from here on out if possible. Maybe I can take a picture of my loaf to help.

Bread is just flour, water, yeast, and salt. You don’t need anything else to make good bread. The problem is how to bake bread in a small oven. You can’t get a dutch oven in the toaster oven. So what’s the best method to bake bread in your oven is the real question. Go over to Fresh Loaf and ask for help there. There’s a number of bakers who routinely bake bread in countertop ovens. I’m sure they can help you figure out the best methods to use in your toaster oven.