Fondant for beginners

Reaction score
I'm wanting to start working with fondant, I've been doing some research and have taken notes but have never worked with fondant before. Does any one have advice or techniques with working with fondant for someone who is just starting out?

Reaction score
I am brand new to working with the stuff too and would love to hear from people who have experience. I plan to cover my son's birthday cake in fondant and I am really nervous about ruining it. I know that you are supposed to roll it out really thin and coat the cake in butter cream before applying it.

Reaction score
Yea I'm doing a lot of reading, note taking, and watching videos. The good news is I've read it's like working with clay, my husband did a lot of projects for school with clay so we can work together!

Reaction score
I've used it before at home and it was fun but it came out horrible. I thought it was because I made it. Bought some and tried again, same results.

Finally signed up for a fondant pillow class...and it actually came out well. The teacher was impressed with my creativity and gave me some help along the way:

-it needs to be rolled out evenly (and larger than the size you need). You can buy those rings that go around your rolling pin to roll things out evenly OR if what you need is not that big you can use something the thickness you need on either side so the rolling pin doesnt go all the way to the table. (for example, paint stirring sticks but I think these are too thick)

-you need to make sure that buttercream underneath is as even as possible. You can use a slightly wet "scraper-thingy" to help even it out if there are still lumps when it begins to crust over.

-cornstarch is your friend;)