French Pastries

Reaction score
There is a new shop in one of the towns where we live that bakes homemade French Pastries. They are inexpensive and delicious. I have watched a professional baker do croissants and the amount of rolling and butter in between each individual layer of leafy pastry is pain staking. What do you think? Are French pastries something you enjoy making from scratch? Or do you think it is just as good to buy it from a baker? Any good recipes?

Reaction score
Oh wow, lucky you that you have a shop like that nearby! I do enjoy making them from scratch, but only if I have a lot of time, because in my experience, it takes a while to perfect them and I have to have a lot of concentration since they can sometimes be tricky.

Reaction score
I've got to say, I'm jealous! I would love to have a decently priced French bakery options close to where I live! I enjoy making them from scratch for certain occasions, but generally it's one thing I'd rather get from a bakery. I don't have a ton of experience with them, and since they're so indulgent to begin with, I want them to at least be quite good when I do have them ;).

Reaction score
I've got to say, I'm jealous! I would love to have a decently priced French bakery options close to where I live! I enjoy making them from scratch for certain occasions, but generally it's one thing I'd rather get from a bakery. I don't have a ton of experience with them, and since they're so indulgent to begin with, I want them to at least be quite good when I do have them ;).