Gelatin powder to sheet conversion

Reaction score
Dear fellow bakers,

I'm planning on making a strawberry chocolate mousse cake in a couple of days which requires gelatin powder. I usually have on problems getting gelatin powder but have been unable to during these times. I do, however, have gelatin sheets. I've never used these sheets before but the instructions in the packet say that you need 6 sheets to prepare a 0.5 l final product. This recipe I plan to use calls for 5g, 7g and 10g for the different parts of the cake. I'm wondering whether somebody could help me to know how many sheets I should use for each? I would greatly appreciate your help as I'm quite nervous to attempt this birthday cake using a form of gelatin that I've never attempted before.

Thank you so much and happy baking!

Reaction score
Dear fellow bakers,

I'm planning on making a strawberry chocolate mousse cake in a couple of days which requires gelatin powder. I usually have on problems getting gelatin powder but have been unable to during these times. I do, however, have gelatin sheets. I've never used these sheets before but the instructions in the packet say that you need 6 sheets to prepare a 0.5 l final product. This recipe I plan to use calls for 5g, 7g and 10g for the different parts of the cake. I'm wondering whether somebody could help me to know how many sheets I should use for each? I would greatly appreciate your help as I'm quite nervous to attempt this birthday cake using a form of gelatin that I've never attempted before.

I do not understand the instructions. Full disclosure, I don’t work with a lot of gelatin and when I do I only use gelatin sheets. I hate powder.

The gelatin sheets we use in the US, which are imported from Europe come in four bloom strengths:

• Platinum 235 - 265 each sheet weighs 1.7g
  • Gold 190 - 225 each sheet weighs 2g
  • Silver 160 each sheet weighs 2.6g
  • Bronze 125 - 155 each sheet weighs 3.3g