Getting the measurements right

Reaction score
I am a cook no questions asked. I am unafraid to try new things when it comes to my cooking. I feel like there is no meal which can't be fixed.

When it comes to baking, I am taking my beginners course right here. I have long heard it is important to get those measurements right. I have also heard that the dry ingredients and the liquid have different rules applied to them when baking. This link below confirms this. How are measuring up when it comes to your baking measurements?

http://www.foodservicewarehouse.com...rectly-measure-baking-ingredients/c27624.aspx

Reaction score
I always sift my flour, as I sift it I pour it into a measuring cup. I have everything necessary to measure other things, like for example the spoon measurement. I always sift my flour, ALWAYS. I think this is a great link, by the way :) I have noticed that the right measurements are specially important when making a cake or a muffin mix. Now I just do my best, relax and have fun, hehe!

Reaction score
I read it in some more detail yesterday and still have to revisit it from time to time. In my case I only own a plastic and and glass measuring cup. I've been around for a while but I would never have thought of owning a "dry graduating measuring cup" for measuring dry ingredients. Even now after reading the article it's not necessarily going on my shopping list. I might be curious to know they are available but I still feel for my level I am good with the ones I already own.

Still I found the information very useful. It's information I would consult from time to time.

Reaction score
I don't necessary sift my flour; in fact, when I measure it in a cup I don't usually "scrape" off the extra anyway. I've always just done it "roughly" or by rough estimation and I have yet to run into any problems.