Giant Cupcake cakes and shell

Reaction score
Hi,

This is my first time posting here so I hope I'm putting this in the right place and I can get some helpful tips.

I am making my sons giant cupcake for his cake smash at the weekend. I have done a couple of practice runs with the cake and icing (both of which were eaten and tasted delicious ). I have found a good recipe that has worked and I have covered with foil when the top starts to look burned. I also cook the 3 halves separately. My worry every time though is that the sides end up quite well done though and look done way before the middle is. Is there anything I can do to prevent this? (I geese and flour the tin before hand and touch wood haven't stuck yet)!

Also attempted the cupcake chocolate shell yesterday, I did 3 coats of melted chocolate (150g) and set at room temp (on the window seal with the window slightly open) I put in the freezer for around half an hour to try and get the thing out of the pan but it cracked (I think it was too thin on the sides) but to get he base out I tapped it on the worktop and it just popped out. Would it work if I tapped the whole thing on the work top to get it out whole initially or would it crack?

Sorry for the huge post but I'm making it today in readiness for Sunday so any last minute tips would be a great help.

Thank you in advance

Reaction score
Hi,

This is my first time posting here so I hope I'm putting this in the right place and I can get some helpful tips.