Improving Gingerbread Mixture for Larger Structures

Reaction score
Hi! So last night I made some gingerbread biscuits. It's my first time doing gingerbread, and I'm happy with the final product (although I made about 50 biscuits so I iced them quickly and it's a bit messy on some).

In December I'd like to attempt a gingerbread house or similra structure, but I know that with the gingerbread I made yesterday this will not work.

The mixture was very dry and crumbly, so it was difficult to roll out. It worked OK because the biscuits were small, but I would struggle a lot to get anything big enough to make "walls". Does anybody know how I can improve? The recipe I used is here: https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/gingerbread-bunting

I made 2 change- agave syrup instead of golden syrup (couldn't find it, but I'll be able to get it at home) and I used 2 extra tbsp of ginger for extra flavour. The eggs I used were fairly small, I didn't weigh them as the recipe didn't give a size guide.

001.JPG

Attachments

• 002.JPG
    002.JPG
    137 KB · Views: 532
  • 004.JPG
    004.JPG
    100.2 KB · Views: 571
Reaction score
Hi! So last night I made some gingerbread biscuits. It's my first time doing gingerbread, and I'm happy with the final product (although I made about 50 biscuits so I iced them quickly and it's a bit messy on some).

In December I'd like to attempt a gingerbread house or similra structure, but I know that with the gingerbread I made yesterday this will not work.

The mixture was very dry and crumbly, so it was difficult to roll out. It worked OK because the biscuits were small, but I would struggle a lot to get anything big enough to make "walls". Does anybody know how I can improve? The recipe I used is here: https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/gingerbread-bunting