Graduating to desserts!

Reaction score
I'm new to baking, it's been a couple of months now and I've been baking all kinds of cookies (someone told me to start there) and now I feel I might be ready to tackle something a bit more complicated. Does anyone have a recipe in this section that might be a good one for me to start with?

Reaction score
I have come across several threads about cookies. And the way they were posted, it looks like cookies are for beginners. But for me, I'd say pudding is for beginners since it is far easier to bake pudding than to make a dough. From what I understand with the dough, the mixture has a ritual such that the ingredients should be exact as per the recipe and the timing is also required. You cannot make a dough and bake it on the next day. I still have to make a dough myself and I have to admit that I'm quite scared.

Reaction score
I did start with cookies, as I was told that they were a perfect place for a beginner. I've been doing quite well (even if I say so myself) and now I feel up to tackling more challenging things. I'd appreciate a couple of recipes that I can try out. I've never made pudding before.

Reaction score
If you've done cookies, then the next step is cupcakes.

After cupcakes, then go to cakes.

After cakes, go to pies or tarts.

After that, you should be able to try anything.

Reaction score
A cake is a great place to start! Here's some information that's helpful. As in pretty much all baking, sugar and butter are "liquefiers" - they make things spread. That's why when we make cookies we don't cream the sugar and butter until it's so light and fluffy it's almost white! Otherwise the cookies flatten out, right? Flour and eggs are binders, they give substance to baked goods. So, cakes like to be light and fluffy!
Always start out with your ingredients at room temperature - eggs, milk, butter, etc...
With most cakes - cream your butter and sugar until light and fluffy and add one egg at a time.