Granton Knife: The Perfect Cake Slicing Solution

Reaction score
I’ve been searching for the perfect knife to torte and slice cake. Even the serrated knives that work beautifully for bread are too thick, so create drag and ends up damaging the crumb. So a chef suggested a meat slicing knife by Granton. Granton Knife Company of Sheffield apparently created a unique a blade that slices through food very cleanly. And the design of the blade is such that food doesn’t stick to it as much. This style of blade has become so popular with chefs that other companies are reproducing the design.

I see now why the Granton is so loved. This knife is significantly thinner than the serrated knife I’ve been using for some 20 yrs. It just glides through cake. And it’s significantly longer, so easier to torte 10” rounds. I love this knife so much I’m thinking about purchasing a second one to actually use to slice meat. This one is for cake only.

Granton knife spine on left
Henckels serrated knife spine on right
5742689E-C9A6-4C17-8CE4-7F56419A2641.jpeg

Granton knife on left
Henckels Serrated knife on right.
4427DA7D-5490-4BC7-8ACD-68934F8F7AFF.jpeg

Reaction score
Oh wow, I had no idea that Granton knives are also popular on the other side of the pond! I usually use a carving knife to slice my cakes, but that's mainly because it's the longest knife I've got. I might have to take a look at those long knives, they look great :)

Reaction score
Oh wow, I had no idea that Granton knives are also popular on the other side of the pond! I usually use a carving knife to slice my cakes, but that's mainly because it's the longest knife I've got. I might have to take a look at those long knives, they look great :)