Have you tried baking macarons?

Reaction score
Hello guys,

I've been on a vacation in France and I can't get over their macarons. I've googled a few easy recipes and since I'm just learning how to bake, Im going to buy new equipment.

What's a good brand to buy? Is it really necessary to weigh all the ingredients when I bake macarons?

Reaction score
These cookies are so involved and have so many steps that I have been afraid to to attempt them. I saw a macaroon kit on line that loooked fun so I may have to get it and see what I can do.I have never tasted these cookies but they look so pretty I just want to try baking them.

Reaction score
I have baked macaroons and they are so easy to do but are delicate in keeping shape. Mine would fall apart so I'm not sure what I was lacking in. I want to retry baking these soon to see if I can master it.

Reaction score
The tutorial video that I watched suggested that bakers use a "template sheet" under a cookie sheet. This will keep the sizes of the macaroons consistent.

Have you tried this?

Reaction score
I have seen cooks with talent struggle with macarons on Masterchef and I'm not a talented cook, so I wouldn't even attempt them. Macarons look really hard and complicated to me.

Reaction score
I think they look very difficult but think I may give them a whirl. I will only make them for myself to start so if they don't look good it won't be an issue. I have to find a recipe, for some reason I have it in my head that these involve ingredients I don't currently have.

Reaction score
I really would love to, but I the complexity is keeping me from giving it a shot...hey, what's the worst that can happen? (hopefully they'll still taste okay even if they fall apart...)

Reaction score