hearth style bread

Reaction score
hello bakers! i am new to this forum and this is my first posting. so here goes.
i have extensive professional baking experience and still love to bake at home. while im still on this side of the grass i have tried numerous times to produce a baguette with that crackly crust, chewy crumb and those irregular holes throughout. so far no success. i end up with a nice tight/even grained loaf. am i chasing my tail???

Reaction score
hello bakers! i am new to this forum and this is my first posting. so here goes.
i have extensive professional baking experience and still love to bake at home. while im still on this side of the grass i have tried numerous times to produce a baguette with that crackly crust, chewy crumb and those irregular holes throughout. so far no success. i end up with a nice tight/even grained loaf. am i chasing my tail???

Hello welcome to the forum.

yes it is possible to make a good baguette at home. But it takes a lot of practice. I would recommend that you start with the recipe on King Arthur flour’s website.

I don’t think King Arthur’ recipe works to a DDT. As a retired Baker you know the importance of DDT. For baguettes it’s 75°F.

you’re a Baking surface is also important. I use a Baking steel
3CF9228D-4D41-49DE-832A-5F865070F4E7.jpeg

Reaction score
thank you for your reply. i am looking for the affect i see in your photo. so nothing about the degree of gluten development or tightness if the dough? i will try the ka formula. thanks again. i will let you (???) know how it turns out.

Reaction score
thank you for your reply. i am looking for the affect i see in your photo. so nothing about the degree of gluten development or tightness if the dough? i will try the ka formula. thanks again. i will let you (???) know how it turns out.