Heating cores even in smaller cakes?

Reaction score
I'm really new to cake baking, still just baking cakes out of boxes and trying to start acquiring decent supplies to bake with. I've been reading these forums and keep seeing people talk about using heating cores in cakes larger than 9". Does anyone use them in smaller (8-9") cakes too? It seems like anything that helps the center bake faster will ensure that the outside of the cake is even less likely to overcook.

Reaction score
I'm really new to cake baking, still just baking cakes out of boxes and trying to start acquiring decent supplies to bake with. I've been reading these forums and keep seeing people talk about using heating cores in cakes larger than 9". Does anyone use them in smaller (8-9") cakes too? It seems like anything that helps the center bake faster will ensure that the outside of the cake is even less likely to overcook.
They're compensating by using gadgets, when I see that I wonder what they're doing incorrectly. Sometimes it's just an unsuitable recipe in the wrong mold. If the outside is burning and the middle isn't baking it's trying to tell us something, could be the heat is too high , the mold too flimsy , the mold ought to be placed on a tray to deflect or even out the heat or perhaps it's located in the wrong place in the oven.

I don't like typical home ovens. We're getting a convection oven soon.

Reaction score

Cake batter bakes from the outside toward the center as batter in contact with the metal heats.
The result in baking a cake at 350°F is The batter in contact with the metal quickly bakes AND sets. The center continues to rise as it is unbaked. It creates a volcano like effectt.

The cake has low sides and a domed center.

Anodized aluminum, dark metal, coated metal will conduct heat more intensely. So these pans create and even worse dome top.

Cake sides and bottom form a thick brown crust. Not only is it u appealingly, but unappetizing as it dry and tough.