Hello, newbie here :D

Reaction score
Hello everyone!
Recently I developed a liking for baking and making desserts in general.
As far as skills go, I'm a total newbie.
In the past I've baked a few simple cakes (I'm not sure of the exact terms, whether it's a sponge or skillet cake.., not sure, English isn't my first language), and even those ones didn't always turn out okay.
Lately I've been trying out some recipes with flour, milk, eggs, again, the simple ones, but I haven't had much luck. Seems like they always end up undercooked for some reason.. Or at least they seem that way.. Today I've tried baking something, and when I sliced the cake, it was still wet(raw? Not sure which) after baking for 40 min on 175°C. I put it back in the oven for another 20 min or so, but it remained the same on the inside o_O I must have done something really wrong:oops:.. The outside looked done after the initial 40min though. Anyway, sorry I've wandered away from the introduction a bit :D I hope this forum is alive and active. So far, I've snooped around a bit and found there are a lot of people here that realllyy know what they're doing! :D So I'm really glad I found this site!
I'm going to do a little bit of exploring around the forum for some basic information about how the components react, what goes well together, etc. Hopefully I'll be able to get enough info from it to get to the bottom of my recent baking failures :p

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum @Fluffy, great to have you here! :)

Sorry to hear you've had problems with an undercooked cake recently. There are a few ways in which that can happen, but the first one to check would be your oven temperature. Oven temps vary wildly, so it's a good idea to check that your oven is the temperature it says it is. I check mine with a digital meat probe.