Tips for Perfecting Whole-Wheat Banana Bread Recipe

Reaction score
hey everyone, i'm so new to this baking thing. so for my first attempt, i tried to make banana bread by tasty (this is the recipe https://tasty.co/recipe/banana-bread#tips ). i used healthy ingredients such as whole-wheat flour, and i didn't use any sugar and oil instead i replaced it with honey and greek yogurt. i followed the step one by one. but in the end my banana bread is a total failure. my bread didn't rise, on the inside it's to wet and all soggy and mushy. is there something wrong with the oven heat? (i used bottom fan heat) or else. please i need your help, afterall i'm very new at this

J13

Reaction score
i used healthy ingredients such as whole-wheat flour, and i didn't use any sugar and oil instead i replaced it with honey and greek yogurt. i followed the step one by one. but in the end my banana bread is a total failure. my bread didn't rise, on the inside it's to wet and all soggy and mushy. is there something wrong with the oven heat? (i used bottom fan heat) or else. please i need your help, afterall i'm very new at this
Welcome to the wonderful world of baking awkalov!

I dont’t think there’s anything wrong with your oven—though it’d probably be a good idea to get an oven thermometer. If you want to do more baking, they’re a must. You may turn your oven onto 350°—but that doesn’t mean your oven is going to that temperature. My oven, when I got it, was off by 25°. So I had to go to 375° if I wanted 350°. Your oven may be the same. Get an oven thermometer, put it in the oven, turn it on to a temperature and, after 15 minutes, see if the thermometer reads that temperature or if it’s lower than expected.

Also, remember to always preheat your oven. That means turn it on to desired temperature for 15 minutes at least before putting the cake into the oven.