Tips for Making a Safari Themed Cake for a First Birthday

1stbdycake

Hello all. I'm completely new to baking and decorating cakes. I am going to make a cake for my son's first birthday and I need help planning it. I'm hoping to make a safari theme cake for about 15 people. I will be working with fondant.

I need advice on the cake recipe, frosting, filling and fondant. My son's bday is on 10/10 and we are traveling from 10/1 to 10/8. Can I make the entire cake before 10/1? I am looking for recipes for cakes that keep well, as well as frosting and fillings that keep well.

I want to bake a chocolate cake that would keep well for about ten days, orange curd filling and dark chocolate ganache. Then fondant the cake. Would that work and can someone send good recipes and techniques/tips my way?

I have attached my inspiration cake and hope to make something similar. TIA

Attachments

• IMG_5440.jpg
    IMG_5440.jpg
    122.2 KB · Views: 407
Reaction score
You can make everything ahead of time, except the ganache. It doesn't take long to make that and it tastes better if it's not been pre-made.

You can bake your cake layers and as soon as they have cooled down enough to take out of the pans and handle, you can wrap them up in at least three layers of plastic wrap each. Place them on a flat surface and stick them in the freezer. It will be easier to work with frozen cake when the time comes anyway.

Never made curd filling, so I have no idea if that is something that would work pre-made, but I assume it would, as long as it is kept in an air tight container in the fridge. Becky would probably know more about that than me.

Fondant you can definitely make ahead of time. You can even roll it out, make your cuts and even make your fondant animals if you want. If you make your flat cut outs, just make sure to put plastic wrap between each piece and lay them on one another in an air tight container and put in the fridge. Same goes for the other pieces.