Igniting the love of baking

Reaction score
What activities do you do with your little ones to foster the love of baking?

When I was around 6 or 7 I loved to watch my grandmother bake pies. She would always give my sister and me a bit of the left over pastry dough to roll out, cut into shapes with a cookie cutter, sprinkle with some cinnamon and sugar, and bake. I know she did it to keep us out of mischief, but it taught us how to handle pastry dough and sparked a lifelong love of baking. (Eventually, I graduated to making apple turnovers, and by age 12, pies of my own.)

When my little nieces and nephews come to visit, they love making little pastries cut-outs just like we did. For variety, we leave the sugar and cinnamon off of the dough and bake them plain. After I take them out the oven and let them cool, the kids frost them with peanut butter and chocolate I've melted in the microwave or a little strawberry jam.

What things do you do with your own little bakers?

Reaction score
With any of my baking, I'm always sure to let my daughter be super "hands-on". Even though she's only 19 months old, if I'm making a cake, I let her get her hands in there at some point. Textures are great for her cognitive learning, so she really enjoys that. I also let her shape the cookie dough when we make cookies. At this point I just really want to get her familiar with it. She loves helping even if all she gets to do is stir and mash things up.

Reaction score
depending on the occasion my daughters and I like to make seasonal cookies, in different shapes and colors and sometimes just for no reason at all we like to make different kinds of cookies. Actually one time when my daughter was younger and just learning her shapes and colors, we made cookies to help her learn, in the shapes of circles, squares etc and different colors. It worked really well, she learned her colors and shapes while eating the cookies lol, it was fun.

Reaction score