I've fallen in love with dense, moist carrot cake. So much so that I want to....

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am a complete novice about baking so I really need your help, especially if you are a professional.

I do not have a sweet tooth and do not care for a lot of sugary stuff. But there is one cake that for me was love at first bite. It was at a friend's birthday party and they called it a carrot cake. I had no idea where that name was coming from since I couldn't taste the carrots. Never mind that. All I knew is that the not-too-sweet, somewhat dense and moist texture was the perfect taste and I dare to say "comfort" for my mouth--even without the icing. That was more than 50 years ago.

Fast forward to my life as it is now. I'm a small apple grower and I use those apples to make apple sauce and apple butter in a country where applesauce is unheard of. We sell the apple sauce in 2.75 oz plastic see-through cups. Invariably, customers ask "How do you eat it?" Needless to say, I'm having trouble increasing sales.

I recently came across a carrot cake recipe that called also for crushed pineapple. That's when I thought about substituting the pineapple for applesauce. I have been tweeking the recipe and experimenting to the point where I think I'm close to that carrot cake that I fell in love with so many years ago. I could introduce applesauce as an ingredient for baking and try to increase sales that way, too.

Well, my idea has since blossomed and now I'm thinking about developing a recipe for a carrot cake, (bread?), using applesauce, of course, that I could bake in tin cans and can commercially for increased shelf stability. I've been doing a lot of research and found this
https://newengland.com/today/food/new-england-made/bm-brown-bread-in-a-can/
I've never had this bread before but it seems close to what I'm aiming for. I would use a much smaller can, though.