Laminated dough yield issue

Reaction score
Hi bakers,

This is my first post in this forum. I'm a culinary cook who just welcomed the dark side (a culinary inside joke about moving to baking) about a year ago. My main business is in charcuterie, but I am honing my baking skills as well in my free time, because I'm sure it can be handy in the future.

I have a question about laminated dough in general. When I am laminating dough it seems that there are a lot of dough I have to trim off, because the butter sheet won't spread to the corner of the dough (or the dough is too thick and spread to much during rolling).

currently for my croissant dough I use 45% butter in form of butter sheet + 14% in the dough, and 60% hydration. I used to use 60% butter, but it was way to greasy for my taste, and too expensive as well. I laminate the dough to final layer of 32, and thickness of 6mm each folding. My final thickness of the dough is 3mm. With this ratio I usually get only about 74%-75% yield in ready to use croissant dough. The rest are mostly dough that I had to trim off during laminating process, very minimal butter in it.

Is there a way to increase my yield? I know I can add the dough to my next batch, but most of the time the dough will be forgotten in the very corner of my fridge accumulating mold, because I don't make croissant dough often.

Thanks

Reaction score
1. What method are you using for your butter lock?
2. What are you using for hydration?
3. How thick is your butter block?
4. What is width & length of dough before you lock?
5. What I'd width & length of butter block?
6. What is the temperature of your butter block?
7. What is the fat content of your butter?
8. What is the protein content of your flour?
9. When you roll the dough, is it springing back, or is it holding the length with each pass of the rolling pin?

8% - 10% of butter in the dough is sufficient.