Leek and Mushroom Quiche or Tart

Discussion in 'Savory' started by Zyni, Sep 28, 2016.

1. Zyni

Zyni Well-Known Member

The recipe calls it a tart, but to me it could also be considered a quiche (I tend to think of most "egg pie" type things as quiche, so don't necessarily listen to me... I don't know the strict definition, I just go with what sticks).

Anyway, it sounds good to me,, and I can think of lots of yummy additions and variations as well.

Does this sound good to you?

http://www.frugalfoodiefamily.com/2011/12/23/leek-and-mushroom-tart/

Zyni, Sep 28, 2016
    Becky likes this.
    1. Advertisements

2. Zyni

Diane Lane Well-Known Member

Dang it, it sounds yummy to me, but I usually have a reaction to both mushrooms and any type of onions. I think maybe they're calling this a tart because it's made in a tart pan, although of course it's very similar to a quiche. I have both, and mainly use the quiche pan for everything. I'm not an expert on pans, but speaking from the ones I have, the quiche pan is a little deeper and the edges are more scalloped than closely folded like a fan, the way the pan shown in the recipe's picture is. My quiche pan is easier to clean, which is probably why I default to it.

Diane Lane, Sep 29, 2016
    Zyni likes this.
    1. Advertisements

3. Zyni

Zyni Well-Known Member

I'm all for whatever is easier to clean, ha ha. I hear ya on that. I just use a glass pie plate for quiche, but it tends to be my "go to" because it's a little deeper. My tart pan feels too small (though I realize it's the size it's supposed to be). When I make quiche, I consider it more of an entree, so I want the bigger pan.

Zyni, Sep 29, 2016
  4. Zyni

Mara Well-Known Member

It's quite a common vegetarian combination. Another idea is to use spinach in addition to leeks, or asparagus instead of leeks. I always find caramelized onions do well on the top of quiches, as it adds flavor and also looks good.

Mara, Sep 29, 2016
  5. Zyni