Looking for dense whole-grain bread with no kneading

Reaction score
Hello! I've always loved dense, almost chewy whole-grain bread. After waiting till retirement to start baking, my hands are now too arthritic for it. I need a recipe with as little hand-labor as possible. I would love to find a bread that's no-knead, or no yeast, or quick-bread, or? I am brand new to baking and trying to feel my way. It doesn't have to be fluffy or crusty, but I want to be able to add several (or even many) whole grains to it, and the denseness appeals to me so much. Does anyone have any suggestions? PS I may wind up with a breadmaker, but for now, wondering if there is a quick, simple way. Thanks all!

Reaction score
A kitchenaid mixer with a dough hook will take the place of any kneading and then you could make anything you like. If you don't want to invest in that, the book "Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day" by Zoe Francois and Jeff Hertzberg is a very useful book if you want to go the no knead way (few bucks on bookfinder.com). You will need a Dutch oven though.

Sal

Reaction score
Hello! I've always loved dense, almost chewy whole-grain bread. After waiting till retirement to start baking, my hands are now too arthritic for it. I need a recipe with as little hand-labor as possible. I would love to find a bread that's no-knead, or no yeast, or quick-bread, or? I am brand new to baking and trying to feel my way. It doesn't have to be fluffy or crusty, but I want to be able to add several (or even many) whole grains to it, and the denseness appeals to me so much. Does anyone have any suggestions? PS I may wind up with a breadmaker, but for now, wondering if there is a quick, simple way. Thanks all!
I use a food processor. No kneading, it does all the hard work for you. Plus, find a bread flour which contains ascorbic acid and it ensures the rise and texture of the bread is always excellent.

Reaction score