Mary Berry Mini Fruit Tarts

Sai

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a novice baker and still learning.....

I have been trying to follow Mary Berry's receipe for mini fruit tarts as seen on
TV as part of the Red Nose Bake Off

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/mini_fruit_tarts_30208

However, I find the pastry very wet and soggy. It says to knead dough until smooth.

But however much I knead the pastry dough is still very soggy. I ended up adding
a ton of extra flour to try and fix it. Is this incorrect ?

Do you kneed soggy dough and somehow it magically becomes un-soggy ???

Please advise, many thanks.

Reaction score
Try decreasing the liquid a little bit. Sometimes a recipe is a little off if the person who made it was in a dry climate and you are in a humid climate or your kitchen tends to be more humid.

Just kneeding it will not make it un-soggy. It's generally OK to add some extra flour if your dough feels like it needs it, but since it needed a lot, you probably have too much liquid to begin with.

Reaction score
I agree with dancinglady, I rarely follow closely most of the recipes I find... I just use as much water as I believe necessary. Might not be apparent for you now, but once you become an experienced baker you will know just by looking at the ingredients and the quantity. Until then just add water to the dough as you see fit; add it little by little.

Reaction score
I would gently tap the fruit with paper towels to soak up some of the liquid before making the tarts and then you can add a little flour to soak up any extra juices. I made the mistake of not doing this the first time I made blackberry pie and ended up with a soupy mess.

Sai

Reaction score
Thanks for your replies they are much appriciated.
Next time I will add the egg in a little at a time until it makes a good (but un-soggy) dough
and leave the remainder.

One final question. What is the purpose of kneading the dough ?

Reaction score