Muffin tops browning too fast.

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm a decent cook but a lousy baker. I have a thing for Dunkin Donuts chocolate chip muffins, when they arent dried out.
Anyway, I decided to try and make my own. I have found that most of the recipes online are all pretty much the same. And, the muffins turn out fine when following them. But, something is missing. So, I have been trying to modify the recipe a little bit on my own. What I have tried is substituting light brown sugar for the white sugar that the recipe calls for. Also, substituting a little bit of vanilla pudding mix (cooking type) for some of the flour. The sugar substitution is straight up, oz for oz. The same with the flour-pudding mix substitution. I have been subbing in just about 20% of the pudding mix in replacement for that much flour.

Here is the problem. The muffins seem to cook faster. For example, strictly following the recipe the muffins are baked at 425 for 5 minutes then temp. reduced to 375 for 13 minutes. When I follow that with the original reciped it works out perfectly. But with the brown sugar and pudding mix substitutions, the muffins are done in 10 minutes rather than 13. The tops are very brown. Ok, but a bit too dark. I have tried reducing the temp to 375 for the entire cooking time and that doesnt work at all. The tops burn before the insides are done. Forget about baking giant muffins, that doesnt work at either temperature with the substitutions. But it does work fine if I follow the original recipes.

The muffins are much better (to me) with the brown sugar and pudding mix, but I cant get it to work.

So, I guess my question is this ... is it the brown sugar or is it the pudding mix that is throwing it off? Or, is it probably both? I fully admit that I am a lousy baker but I am now obsessed with figuring out these chocolate chip muffins. So, any help is appreciated.

Thanks kindly.

Reaction score