Mug cakes

Reaction score
Who has tried making Mug Cakes? I have seen many recipes but they all seem dry and bland. I Actually tried to add frosting and/or chocolate fudge, but it still does not compare to our traditional cakes or cupcakes. Would anyone like to share their recipe?

Reaction score
I've tried making a mug cake before, but it wasn't all that great. I'm not sure if it was the recipe or the way I made it, though. Overall I'd rather just make a regular cake, ha ha.

Reaction score
I have never tried to make one before. My grandmother does, and they are delicious. I will have to see if she would let me post her recipe on here. I've tried to use her recipe and mine always turns out dry.

Reaction score
I would love to have a good recipe for a Mug cake. It sounds like something you could whip up in a flash and have a nice cake treat after a meal. I'm single so this sort of thing really appeals to me, more than making a full-sized cake.

Reaction score
It is perfect if there aren't many people and you just want to make your own little cake. Another good thing about it is that it won't take more than 3-5 minutes in the microwave to bake. I am trying to practice baking mug cakes with frosting or by decreasing the baking time or temperature to make it more moist.

Reaction score
I've tried one mug cake a long time ago. It came out too dry, so I have yet to make it again. Maybe I just made a mistake somewhere in the recipe. It would be great if someone did have a good recipe. Having a mug cake would prevent me from eating half a regular size cake! :p

Reaction score
I've found plenty of recipes on Youtube so whatever problems (moisture level, etc.) are probably addressed somewhere in those videos (or maybe the comments).

Reaction score
I have absolutely no idea what a mug cake is? Is it a larger version of a cup cake but baked in a mug? I think something is getting lost in translation between the US and poor British me :) Could someone please enlighten me!