My cupcakes won't rise???

Reaction score
I'm a newbie at baking and decided to try this cupcake recipe which doesn't require butter, eggs or sugar (recipe here: http://www.feastingonfruit.com/healthy-chocolate-cupcakes/)

I bought a bunch of medjool dates, the sweeteners used in the recipe and tried it out. All I did for the batter was put in my ingredients plus date paste I made from the dates and water and mix them with a spoon. The recipe called for a food processor to mix the ingredients, but I don't have that. I used a toaster oven which has a thermostat that switches on and off the heat periodically. After many attempts, my cupcakes still don't look like cupcakes. I see them rising in the oven but by the end of the bake they would have sunk down again. Also, my cupcakes are always gooey in the middle, like the batter before baking.

What could I have done wrong/differently that caused the batter to sink? Should I mix the batter less? Bake longer on low heat? Or was it a problem to do with not mixing thoroughly enough since I didn't use a food processor? Help is greatly appreciated :)

Reaction score
Hi Lucy, sorry that your cupcakes failed.
First off, the cupcake had no wheat flour. That means there's no gluten. No gluten means no gluten network. There's no gluten network to hold the batter together.

But the gluten network is not the only thing that provides structure. Wheat flour is made up mostly of starch. When flour is mixed with moisture, the oven heat causes gelatinization. So the gluten network and the starch gelatinization create the structure in a cupcake. These chemical reaction's do not occur in the absence of gluten.

Whenever you bake gluten-free you have to have some type of gluten replacer, a binder that will help hold everything together so the batter holds together, rises, and holds that rise after baking.

Unfortunately in this case she uses no gluten replacer.