My first Bread with Yeast

Reaction score
I am proud to say I made my first bread that called for yeast. I have been meaning to try a bread like this for ages, but I find bread making so intimidating. Anyway, I tried this recipe and it turned out to be quite an ordeal. I used whole wheat flour instead of the white flour that was called for and in the end the bread was too tough for my liking. I had to wait hours for it to rise and the recipe said otherwise. Some friends elsewhere say the recipe was flawed. What do you think?

http://www.food.com/recipe/quick-yeast-bread-89164

Reaction score
Quick yeast bread? Well, I am not an expert when it comes to yeast, but is of my understanding you shouldn't do what the first bit of this recipe suggests. I always let my years rest in warm water for a bit, then add it to whatever I am making (mostly pizza crust). As far as I know you need to give it some time in the warm water. It's indeed an odd recipe.. how they mixed all the ingredients just like that o_O

Reaction score
After I fought with it, I tried to push it off on my son and husband. It was a fight for me to eat it and I am a bread lover sadly. I used garlic spread to give it a more appealing taste. The first day my son helped me get rid of a decent amount but in the end I still had a little bit to throw out. Some who saw the recipe thought it was quite poor and then my using whole wheat alone did not help.

Reaction score
@Winterybella I thhink it may have been due to the use of whole wheat flour. When you use whole wheat flour you can't use the same amount of white all-purpose flour. That may have been why it came out tough. You should've used about use about 3 and 3/4 C of whole wheat flour instead of 5C. For every cup of flour (white) you should use 3/4C of whole wheat flour.

And regarding the yeast, I think they forgot to specify it should be quick yeast or rapid-rise yeast. It cuts the rise time in half. That's what puts the "quick" in this recipe.