My first non box Chocolate Cake

Reaction score
Reaction score
my first question is should I sift all the dry mix or just the flour first ? I'm going to just sift the flour and see what happens

well i forgot to sift the flour lol but I did find a tupper ware cake box and scrubbed it clean,it makes me wonder where the other one got off to

all the dry ingredients are in the stand mixer bowl and have been whisked and i only have 1 cake pan,so the batter will have to sit for a while

Last edited:
Reaction score
it is mixed and in my 1 cake pan baking :) here are a few pictures

001.JPG
002.JPG

well i did make a mess but nothing to bad yet :) there is still frosting to be made and where is that Flour Frosting Recipe when I need it ?

Reaction score
ut oh the first one barely came out of the pan,we shall see what the 2nd one does

006.JPG

should i have shaken off the excess coca powder from the pan ?

Reaction score
evidently i'm not good at measuring the mix out at all,the dry ingredients for the frosting are in the bowl and i'm half way to trashing the kitchen,even though I've been washing dishes and bowls as I have went along ;)

007.JPG

Reaction score
in the frosting recipe it says to use 5 tablespoons of evaporated milk,is it OK to use 2% milk instead ? I'm going with the evaporated,since i have some,I had just read that in the comments section of the Frosting Recipe and was wondering if that would work

well if i had 2 pans,I would be Frosting the cake right now,instead of waiting for the 2nd one to cool off,I do have to say that the crumbs do taste really good though ;)

and i do assume it is safe to let it sit on the counter top too?I didn't know there was a bunch of butter in the frosting,hopefully there will be enough Frosting too,I did read in the comment section that a lot of people were doubling the recipe,to cover a cake,we shall see :)

Last edited:
Reaction score