New Baker

Reaction score
Hi I'm new to baking. What recipes would you recommend for me to start out with and if anyone knows any tips or suggestions can you please let me know? Thanks!

Reaction score
I recommend you to start with something simple, like for example a lemon drizzle. If you need a confidence boost, then you could simply try a box cake recipe ;) One of my very first cakes was one from a box ;) That helped me gain confidence and from there I jumped to more complicated things.

Reaction score
There are also some recipes that start with a box mix that you can "doctor up." You can also try cookie bars. Just mix the cookie recipe or some cookie mix, and then put it in a cake pan instead of making individual cookies. Bars usually take a bit longer to bake than what the recipe says for individual cookies, so check them often. Then, just cut them into squares. Good luck!

Reaction score
Welcome! So good to have you here. If you have no previous baking experience, my advice would be to start with something like a boxed brownie mix. It is so easy, just add eggs, water and oil in the amounts it says on the box and bake for the time it says on the box for the size pan you are using. This will give you a chance to test out your oven and see if it is hotter or cooler than the dial indicates. As long as you set a timer, brownies are hard to ruin. The worst that might happen is they get a little crunchy, but topping with ice cream will make them edible if that happens. Good luck.

Reaction score
Thank you all for ur feedback. Yes i have tried some store bought box cakes, cupcakes and some cookies. Im ok with making those. Im trying to make something from scratch now because i've never made anything from scratch. Im trying to look for perhaps a easy yet delicious pastry recipe or a cake recipe that i can make from scratch.

Reaction score