Baking with a New Electric Fan Oven

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to baking and on top of that I have a new electric oven (always used gas in the past).
Couple of basic questions:
1. Fan or not for cakes?
2. Scones (for instance), top oven without fan or bottom oven with fan?
Any help will be gratefully received!!
Thanks Kay

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to baking and on top of that I have a new electric oven (always used gas in the past).
1. Fan or not for cakes?
Thanks Kay

If you have the option of turning the fan off, I would recommend you do for baking.

The fan will circulate the air in the oven chamber. Great if it’s a large commercial oven and you’re a baking a dozen cakes, or five trays of biscuits. That would ensure all the cakes bake evenly.

But in a small home oven you are only baking a couple of cake tins of batter or tray of biscuits. The fan will simply intensified the heat around the cake tins and over-bake the cakes.

In fact it would over bake anything you put in the oven since it’s a small volume of baked goods and in a small oven chamber. So when it comes to a baking, it’s best done with the fan off in a small home oven.

What’s important is you get an oven thermometer to check the oven temperature. Preheat the oven for 20 to 30 minutes. Then check the temperature reading. If your oven is off by more than 10° you should have it calibrated.

Recipes always indicate a baking temperature of 350°F (170°C). But this is really too hot for cake. I’ve been baking for nearly 20 years, I bake all my cakes at 325°F (160°C). And if your cake tins are anodized aluminum, or non-stick coated, or dark metal you absolutely must reduce the baking temperature to 325°F (160°C).