Newbie here

Reaction score
Hey all! My name is Jamie Rose. As you can tell I am new around here.

I've been serious about baking for about a year. I make a lot of my family everyday breads from scratch. It started out pretty harmlessly. On a path of real food and giving my kids the best possible foods they could eat on a limited budget. Cooking has always been a passion of mine and a few years ago I was given a hand me down bread machine that peaked my interest. After many fails I gave up, but came back to bread making. This time by hand. In the year I've been doing it I haven't had many fails. *knocks on wood* One time I forgot the salt in the French loaf I was making tasted very flat.

Anyway I'm an open book. Ask me anything. I can't wait to jump into the forum. :)

Reaction score
Welcome! Thank you for the wonderful introduction. Loved what you said about giving your kids the best possible foods on a limited budget - you sound like a great mother! Baking is a lot of fun and I only have a 6 month old but I can't wait to get her involved in the kitchen when she's old enough!

Looking forward to seeing you around the forums!

Reaction score
Hi Jamie! Welcome to the forum! I can see you are doing your best to offer whole foods for your kids and family, that is great! I can't wait to check your threads. I'm sure you have gained a lot experience and wisdom :) I haven't made bread yet, but I have actually felt tempted to make my own bread. Mostly because of the budget and also because I don't trust companies who add all sorts of things to what we eat...

Reaction score
Hi Jamie, welcome! I think you'll have fun here; I've learned a lot of different recipes and names of food that I didn't even know before, so I'm sure you'll learn something new here! Or at least make new friends :)

Reaction score