No knead bread

Reaction score
I have been baking for about three years now so still a toddler (i wish). For about nine months now i have been using a a no knead recipe of 3 cups of flour, 1 1/2 cups of warm water plus yeast and salt, with a bake time of 30 mins in a dutch oven then 15 mins out of the dutch oven and just in the open oven. I like the way the bread bakes, like a ciabatta bread.
I want to make a bigger loaf using 6 cups of flour but i am not sure how much to increase the cook times. To say double it like the ingredients would perhaps give me a cindered block, can anyone give me a guide please.

I'm not a baker, cook of any sort i am just a baby at tall this cooking stuff but since retiring i have been making the tea/diner every other night or so so my wife gets a sit down. Nothing fancy, curries :), chilli's mince of chicken pies, bread (of course) and various other little bits.
I think everyone should retire at 30, i love the freedom, cooking, baking, woodworking and riding my Harley

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum! :)

I think everyone should retire at 30

Me too! Won't make it happen unfortunately ;) :D

The answer is; it depends. Baking time for bread ensures the loaf is cooked all the way through, so the shape affects how quickly the heat can permeate. Bread dough is full of bubbles, that's how it rises, but these bubbles also act as insulation which prevent the heat getting to the middle. The more spherical the loaf, the bigger the problem. Obviously there's the added problem that you don't want the outside of the loaf to burn, so that also needs to be taken into consideration. Generally speaking, for a larger loaf you want to lower the oven temperature but bake it for longer. I'd start with roughly 2x the baking time, 10-15% lower oven temp, and go from there.

I've never baked bread in a Dutch oven so I'm not sure how that'll affect things though. Will you be using a bigger Dutch oven for the bigger loaf?

Reaction score